RealIRM Respresentative Banner

Twitter icon
LinkedIn icon
YouTube icon

News Archive

The Open Group has announced their new Open FAIR Certification Program aimed at Risk Analysts. The certification program focuses on The Open Group Risk Taxonomy and Risk Analysis standards which have advanced the risk analysis profession by defining a standard taxonomy for risk, and by describing the process aspects of a rigorous risk analysis. 

In order to become certified, Risk Analysts must pass an Open FAIR certification exam which is currently available at Prometric Centres. Training courses will be delivered through an Open Group accredited channel. 

The O-TTPS is an open standard created through the collaborative work of the The Open Group Trusted Technology Forum (OTTF)™. It contains a set of organizational guidelines, requirements, and recommendations for integrators, providers, and component suppliers to enhance the security of the global supply chain and the integrity of Commercial Off The Shelf (COTS) Information and Communication Technology (ICT).

The Open Group's The Future Airborne Capability Environment (FACE) Consortium has released the FACE Technical Standard, Edition 2.0. This is an enhanced version of the open avionics standard for making military computing operations more robust, interoperable, portable and secure.

The FACE Technical Standard enables developers to create and deploy a wide catalogue of applications for use across the entire spectrum of military aviation systems through a common operating environment.

The Open Group announced that a new ArchiMate 2.0 Foundation certification exam is available through accredited training organizations and also at Prometric test centres around the world.

The ArchiMate 2.0 certification exam focuses on validation that the Candidate has gained knowledge of the notation, terminology, structure, and concepts of the ArchiMate modeling language. The learning objectives at this level focus on knowledge and comprehension. The 60-minute exam is based on the same format as the TOGAF® 9 Foundation exam.

On 1 March 2013, The Open Group SA’s EA Forum seminar was fully booked. Hosted at a Sanlam venue in Belville, the topic for discussion was “FNB’s Definition of a Strategic Framework and Operating Model”. The case study was presented by FNB Information Architect, Hannelie Swanepoel and focused on FNB’s use of architecture principles and methods.

The Open Group SA has been hosting EA Forum seminars in South Africa since 2004. Currently there are regular events hosted in Johannesburg, Pretoria, Cape Town and Durban.

The Open Group SOA Governance Framework is considered an international standard since it passed its six-month ratification vote within the International Standards Organization (ISO) and the International Electrotechical Commission (IEC). This means that this vendor-neutral, proven SOA governance standard is now available to governments and enterprises worldwide.

The Open Group Architecture Forum is continuing their work on evolving TOGAF as part of a project they call “TOGAF next”.

The Architecture Forum is currently focusing on a number of areas:

ArchiMate® certification is for architects who want an internationally recognised qualification to demonstrate their detailed knowledge and ability to apply ArchiMate 2.0. It is targeted at those individuals who require a deep understanding of ArchiMate® and/or are responsible for developing architecture artifacts using the language. The certification is also intended for architects wanting to introduce ArchiMate® into their architecture practices.

The Open Group has released ArchiMate® 2.0, the latest version of the open and independent modeling language for Enterprise Architecture. ArchiMate® 2.0 is now more closely aligned with TOGAF® and enables the creation of fully integrated models of an organization's Enterprise Architecture, the motivation behind it, and the programs, projects and migration paths to implement it.

On the 17th of January 2012 The Open Group released two new vendor-neutral, industry standards that enable businesses to effectively integrate fundamental elements of SOA and Cloud Computing into an Enterprise Architecture. The new standards are: SOA Reference Architecture (SOA RA) and the Service-Oriented Cloud Computing Infrastructure Framework (SOCCI).
Additionally, The Open Group has released updates to The Open Group Service Integration Maturity Model (OSIMM), which has now been ratified as an ISO and IEC (ISO/IEC 166880) International Standard.